Burditt, Woodward, and Rooney Scholarships

  • Maximum Amount
  • Application Deadline
    March 01, 2020
  • Number Of Awards
  • Contact
    Alena King
    155 West Market Street
    Suite 311
    York, PA 17401
  • Website Address
  • Scholarship Description
    In 1981, AFDO established a scholarship fund with the excess funds from the 75th Anniversary of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act celebration. The “George M. Burditt Scholarship” and the “Betsy B. Woodward Scholarship”, both in the amount of $2,500 each will be awarded annually to a worthy recipient who is in their third year of college.
    A third scholarship, the "Denise C. Rooney Scholarship," worth $2,500 was created in June 2008 and will also be awarded annually to a worthy recipient who is in their third year of college.

    Applicants should have demonstrated a desire to serve in a career of research, regulatory work, quality control, or teaching in an area related to some aspect of foods, drugs or consumer product safety, should have demonstrated leadership capabilities and must be in their third year of undergraduate college. Must have attained at least a 3.0 grade point average during the first two years of undergraduate study. To apply, in addition to completing an application, an official and complete college transcript must be submitted along with letters of recommendation from two faculty members. Applications must be submitted by March 1st to be considered for the current year’s award. Awards are presented at the AFDO Annual Educational Conference in June. For more information or to apply, please visit the scholarship provider's website.

See if you qualify for this award

Learn more about this scholarship and many more.
Find Scholarships Instantly!